Jeremy Likes TV

I like TV. Probably more than any human should.

Morning Links: 2/9/12

leave a comment »

Welcome to the Morning Links. Each weekday, I’ll provide you with some interesting television-related news items culled from the various TV websites I frequent on a regular basis with a slight bit of commentary attached. Pretty straightforward – no fuss, no muss. Onto the links:

*Without question, the biggest television news to break Wednesday was the announcement that House will end its eight-year run on Fox at the end of this season according to The Hollywood Reporter. To this, I say, “Thank Christ.” I mean, no offense to House fans out there but I’ve never understood how people could shovel a show so formulaic down their throats for eight years and then fawn over it like it was one of television’s best dramas. Reality check – it wasn’t and I for one am glad to finally see it go. (Can you tell I never really liked House?)

*This is disappointing. ABC’s The River attracted only modest ratings for its two-hour premiere outing on Tuesday night. I’ve been hearing really good things for months about The River and I respected how it differed in presentation from almost everything else currently on the air. Of course, that’s probably what doomed it because the masses don’t want different (see the popularity of the show in the first link of this post). Hopefully the ratings don’t drop off too much in The River’s second time out next week but it doesn’t look like a long lifespan is in the cards for the show. Pity. (Via EW)

*PETA’s apparently up the ass of HBO and the producers of their new drama Luck (cheap plug: look for my review of the pilot to post later this morning) after two horses have had to be euthanized after breaking their legs during filming of the show’s first season. PETA has never been the most subtle organization – and are often strident in their approaches – so here’s hoping that Luck’s producers are able to rectify the situation immediately because after bowing to less-than-stellar numbers (though it did earn a quick second-season renewal) the show really doesn’t need any more bad press. (Via The AV Club)

*Little more brief than my posts tend to be – though I promise I’m working on that – but Danger Guerrero’s recap of Tuesday’s episode of Justified, “The Devil You Know,” over at Warming Glow is almost as badass as the show itself was. My own review should post by the end of the week.

*Syfy has renewed its hit adaptation of the British series Being Human for a third season following an uptick in ratings for its currently airing sophomore year. I caught close to half of the first season last year before falling behind and, I must admit, I’m not a huge fan of Syfy’s original programming but this one wasn’t that bad at all. Glad to see that people are finding it and that it’s become a good performer for the network.

*The Nielsen Ratings System is totally fucked up, y’all. But you probably already knew that.

Written by jeremylikestv

February 9, 2012 at 7:00 am

Leave a Reply

