Jeremy Likes TV

I like TV. Probably more than any human should.

Morning Links: 2/27/12

leave a comment »

Welcome to the Morning Links. Each weekday, I’ll provide you with some interesting television-related news items culled from the various TV websites I frequent on a regular basis with a slight bit of commentary attached. Pretty straightforward – no fuss, no muss. Who doesn’t want some links on a Monday morning?

*New Game Of Thrones season two trailer. I really don’t need to say any more than that, do I? (Via EW)

*Late Night With Jimmy Fallon will be doing a weeklong tribute to Bruce Springsteen starting tonight with two performances by The Boss himself a week ahead of the release of Springsteen’s new record, Wrecking Ball. Thursday night will see Elvis Costello playing “Beautiful Disguise” while backed by The Roots and you can be sure my DVR will be set for that one. (Via The Hollywood Reporter)

*Hitfix’s Alan Sepinwall has an interview with the co-creators (Kyle Killen and Howard Gordon) of NBC’s ambitious new drama Awake, debuting this Thursday night. Awake’s been called the best network pilot of the 2011 fall season which is clearly why it’s debuting in MARCH. Jesus, NBC. Regardless, the pilot has been available via various platforms for the past week so I’m hoping to check it out within the next few days so that I can have something posted by its debut on Thursday night. Keep your eyes peeled.

*The UK’s David Morrissey has been cast in the pivotal role of The Governor in the third season of The Walking Dead. Seeing as I’ve never read the comic series that the show was based on and I’m pretty spoiler-averse, I have no idea who The Governor is but people seem excited about his upcoming appearance. So… there’s that. (Via TVLine)

*Martin Lawrence has booked a role in a sitcom about a fortysomething man who decides to go to the police academy on a whim. That this stars Lawrence and comes from two men with heavy involvement in Shit My Dad Says and Just Shoot Me means that I’ll avoid this like an STD. (Via EW)

*Gregory Peck’s grandson Ethan Peck, best known for his role in the ABC Family adaptation of 10 Things I Hate About You, has been cast as the male lead opposite Friday Night Lights’ Aimee Teegarden in The CW’s Hunger Games-ish pilot The Selection. Wasn’t impressed by Peck in 10 Things for the most part but I do like me some Julie Taylor. (Via The Hollywood Reporter)

*Someone’s got their panties in a bunch. (Via TVLine)

Leave a Reply

